Representation in Games: Women (The Bad)

This will be the next posted article. I am currently writing it and will post it in the next day or so. This is a delicate subject with many gamers, as some see it as an attack against not only their favorite games, but the genre as a whole, others see it as a non-issue, and others believe that if scrutinizing the representation of one gender, the other should be given light as well.

I believe this is a very important issue that should be addressed, and should be addressed across multiple mediums, but I want to also make it clear that this is not condemning the games that will be examined. Rather, I will be pointing out where the representations of women in these games provide an injustice and how it may be combated in the future. Some of these issues (particularly the Damsel in Distress) is not bad in and of itself, but becomes an issue when this is one of the only and most visible narratives told.

Also, as I have written on the Representation Series page, I will be examining the representation of men in games and the stereotypes that are overly used and do society an injustice as well (I am looking at you, every other male protagonist that looks like Bruce Willis from Die Hard only younger and more attractive).

So please be patient as I write this one, I want to make sure this issue is done justice and so am taking more time than usual.

Published by

Nick Snow

One of the founders and central personalities of Couch Bandits. I like games. I like academics. I combined them.

Leave a comment